March 10, 2007

300 fan..girl?

Posted in Garbage at 12:48 pm by Nova Newcomer

Do you have to be a boy to like the new Frank Miller movie 300? Peat and I saw it in Las Vegas while we were killing time. (Neither of us liked the idea of pouring money into the slots or card tables.) I don’t know what’s wrong with me, but I am really into the Gladiator-Greek-Sparta era movies. Whether it’s Kirk Douglas in Spartacus or Russell Crowe as Maximus or now Gerard Butler as Leonidas, I just enjoy the heck out of these movies. The women are hard as nails, idealistic and gorgeous — the way we all like to imagine ourselves. And the men noble, but fierce. It’s a fantasy to indulge that the complexities of today’s geopolitical scene doesn’t allow. And if you fully escape to the graphic novel world of the battle of Thermopylae and avoid letting your mind construct eerie parallels to the language and dogma used to incite the latest skirmish with “the Persians”, you will have a great action-filled thrill ride.

Are there other girls out there who loved 300?

Note: The feminist in me did laugh at the Queen’s many, yet bare costume choices and the exhibitionist Oracle dance scene, but I also knew what I was watching…a movie based on a graphic novel. I wouldn’t have expected anything different.

1 Comment »

  1. Federline's Girl said,

    Dang. I tried to get into that movie but they wouldn’t let me in with outside food and drink. Jerks. You know I just couldn’t part with my bag of cheetos.


Leave a Reply

